Obligatory “What’s your deal?” post

Hello there Internet-land dwellers, and thank you for stopping by my blog. Since this is my first post, I’ll address some questions you may have on your mind and will provide some info about myself.

Why should I read your blog?

Buying vegetarian-friendly food is sometimes expensive. It’s also difficult to find cheap, quick food when you’re a student and are working hard to meet a deadline. This will be a learning experience for me as I refine my photography and cooking skills.

Why are you a vegetarian?

Mostly because I’ve never liked meat. I watched a video in my 7th grade health class outlining what goes into a hot dog. I figured I’d give vegetarianism a shot, assuming it would be a fad that would last a few weeks, but low and behold, I have not eaten meat in 9 years.

What exactly do (not) you eat?

A vegetarian diet is easy once you put your mind to it! I can go to most places and find something to eat. I particularly love Ethiopian, Indian, Italian, Thai, Mexican, Chinese, etc. but also love something as simple as subbing beans for meat at Taco Bell and ordering a “grilled cheese” from In-n-Out burger.

I’m an octo lavo vegetarian, meaning the only “questionable” items I eat are animal products like dairy and eggs. I do not eat anything with animal broth. Odd, I know, but it works for me.

How do you get protein?

Vitamins are a lifesaver. I eat a protein bar every morning for breakfast and try to incorporate things like nuts and hummus into my daily routine.

Go vegan! Why aren’t you a vegan?

Don’t get me wrong, I absolutely love vegan food. The short answer is I love eggs and dairy too much to give them up. I’d consider it if I truly cooked all my own food.

…and you are?

I’m a 22-year-old graduate journalism student who adores music, bike rides, tea and funky food.

What kind of camera do you have?

Canon Rebel XS

I have an AMAZING recipe you should post.

I’m willing to try anything and everything. If you have a recipe you’d like me to check out, please email it to me: mmfossum@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

