Chipotle Chili

Hey all, sorry I haven’t posted in quite awhile. Trader Joe’s frozen food is super convenient, so I haven’t done much cooking ’til now. I came off my hiatus with quite a feast.

 

Here’s my take on Isa Moskowitz’s Chipotle Chili With Sweet Potatoes and Brussel Sprouts. I made some adjustments for my omni mom who hates brussel sprouts. Be warned, this makes  a lot of spicy food. Next time I make it, I plan on using half the chipotle and chili powder.

 

Ingredients:

2 tablespoons olive oil

3/4 onion, diced

1 tablespoon coriander seed

2 teaspoons dried oregano

3 chipotles, seeded and chopped

3 sweet potatoes

3 zucchinis

2 teaspoons cumin

3 teaspoons chili powder (Isa recommends New Mexico chili powder)

28 oz can crushed tomatoes

1 cup water

16 oz pinto beans, rinsed and drained

1 1/2 teaspoons salt

Fresh lime juice to taste (I didn’t use any, but she says one lime is great)

 

Isa recommends buying stewed chipotles. I found a small can at Fry’s no problem. Take the time to remove as many seeds as possible, or else your chili will be so spicy that you’ll singe some nose hairs. I’m curious to try this with chipotle tabasco sauce instead of chili peppers.

onions, garlic and chili pepper

Looks gross now, but will be better later, I promise.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

1. Saute onion in olive oil until translucent, or in my case, until it starts to burn. Do yourself a favor and either finish all your chopping before you start cooking, or find someone to help you. Onion should take 7-10 min to get soft enough.

2. Add garlic, coriander seeds, and oregano, and saute a minute more. Don’t worry if it seems dry, you have a bunch of wet ingredients on the way.

chipotle chili

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3. Add remaining ingredients (except for lime juice) and mix well. Your pot will very full but it will boil down as it cooks.

4. Cover pot and bring to a boil. Lower heat and stir often for 30-45 min, remember, the longer your chili cooks, the more flavorful it will be. Isa says “until sweet potatoes are fork tender but not mushy.” Mine cooked for a good 45 min but was not mushy.

5. Let sit uncovered for at least 10 minutes before eating.

chipotle chili

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

As I warned, this is a very spicy chili. Sugar and sour cream are helpful, I’m sure cornbread would also help take the edge off. I really enjoyed it with zucchini. I’d recommend using two cans of pinto beans or else they kinda get lost in the mix.

One response to this post.

  1. This looks delicious – especially because I love spicy foods!
    Yay for finding a vegetarian chili recipe – can’t wait to try!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

